Written on the envelope – coming into form from a spell cast out of the Ghost -are two simple words: “From Emil”

Dear Isolde, I thought this might be the best way to contact you.

I apologise for Ghost’s appearance, Lara told me where you were. I felt the last thing you wanted was for someone else to appear unwanted out of shadow, hence the letter.

I’m sorry to tell you that Fiona is dead. Why? I’m going to give you the facts as I understand them. Whether they justify what has happened, that’s not up to me to decide. You have to. But I want you to know as much as possible before you make that decision. I’m sorry if it seems blunt, but the last thing I want is to influence you in any way. I get the feeling that has happened a lot with you, and you don’t deserve it.

So, the facts are this; we discovered that she was responsible for enhancing the pattern curses. This led to many things: the Forest of Arden was thrust into uncontrollable chaos and many Rangers were killed in trying to contain the creatures within it.

The Venway curse was magnified. Many of their younger members lost their minds and began to turn on locals in Amber city; creating twisted mindless vampires who would only come back the next night and do it to others. By the time I got back the city was on fire. Many of us tried to cure the Venway, to hold off the curse but no-one is as powerful as the pattern. For this senseless death and destruction to stop we had to find Fiona.

So, we tracked her down. In doing so we found that she had stabbed the Queen’s aide, Siona Karm, throwing her out the window of her tower to replace her and get close to Erica. It took a lot from me to bring Siona back and I’m not even sure I was completely able to. She Fiona poisoned Erica herself…and I don’t think she can be saved. We chased Fiona to the middle of the Pattern, and at that point, I’ll be honest, I knew what was going to happen. And I helped.

I used my mother’s magic to curse our line for moments enough to allow my companions to strike. Fiona died and we fixed the pattern, allowing the curses to go back to normal.

Those are the facts as I understand them.

If you want to know why I did it, I am happy to talk. I don’t want this letter to be about me, about my justifications, my reasons. I won’t lie. Is this about absolving me in some way? Probably. I don’t think anyone could help it in this situation.

I’m writing this because you deserve to know everything. Because, I want you to make your own decisions. Based on what you know, what you think, what you feel, what you love. What you want! No-one has the right to tell anyone how to live their lives. That’s what I believe.

You are my family. I’ll always be here for you. If you want my help, you have it. You want me to stay away, I will. You and I, personally, may have never really met. But I know in my heart that you are my family so I will always care for you. I want you to be you. Don’t be beholden to anyone unless you want to. Go out into Shadow, have fun, get into trouble (you will, it comes with the genetics). Be the amazing person I believe you are. Do good things. Do amazing things!

The Ghost that brought this message is yours now. For all the birthday’s I’ve missed. It used to share a direct link to me through my blood, but that is gone now. It has been my companion for a long time and has gotten me out of a few scrapes. It can cast spells, track things through shadow, even sing you a tune or three. At any point if you don’t want it, just tell it to return to me and it will. It has no link to me unless you ask for it, and you’ll know everything it does. It cannot hide anything from you, and really, neither can I. Nor do I want to.

I wish you all the best the worlds have to offer.

Your father,

Emil.

Crumpled at the bottom of Emil’s desk are four attempts at this letter. As Emil seals the envelope and passes it to his Ghost, he gives the tiny creature one last instruction before his link is cut.

**Player note – this letter has three major objectives.

  1.  Give Isolde the facts of what happened to Fiona.
  2. Show Isolde that all Emil wants is for her to be her own person. He sees that all she’s known is other peoples wants and instructions. He wants her to be her own person.
  3. For Emil to not be attempting to influencing her in any way.

Emil has the capability to write this, the player probably needs more than five drafts. If something needs to be fixed to meet the objectives, please let me know.

